The Red Hot Chili Peppers started 2017 on the road — and in the United States, where they brought their Getaway Tour to San Antonio on Jan. 5.

San Antonio's stop marked the start of the tour's first full-fledged North American leg. Although the Chili Peppers have played a lengthy string of dates since The Getaway arrived in stores last June, they've come primarily overseas; aside from a handful of warm-up shows and festival performances, the band spent 2016 focused on the European market.

That's changing in a major way this year. The Jan. 5 show kicked off a lengthy run of dates that will see the Chili Peppers traveling throughout the U.S. and Canada until early July — at which point they're scheduled to return to Europe yet again. In all, the tour should see the band checking off nearly 150 shows before it wraps up late this year.

The Getaway, the Chili Peppers' 11th studio album, ended a five-year hiatus between projects that started after the release of 2011's I'm With You. The record peaked at No. 2 in the U.S. and U.K., and has spun off a trio of singles -- "Dark Necessities," "Go Robot," and "Sick Love" -- all of which surfaced in the set list on Jan. 5, which you can check out below.

The night started out with a jam session that led into "Can't Stop" from 2002's By the Way, which you can watch via the fan-shot footage embedded above, and included a number of hits and fan favorites. The tour has seen singer Anthony Kiedis struggling with health woes and the band still has a long way to go, but according to the San Antonio Express-News, they seemed energized; as bassist Flea told the crowd, "We never take one f---ing second of it for granted."

Red Hot Chili Peppers Set List: Jan. 5, 2017, AT&T Center, San Antonio, Texas

1. "Intro Jam"
2. "Can't Stop"
3. "Dani California"
4. "Otherside"
5. "Dark Necessities"
6. "Hey"
7. "Right on Time"
8. "Go Robot"
9. "Californication"
10. "Sick Love"
11. "Breaking the Girl"
12. "The Getaway"
13. "Suck My Kiss"
14. "Under the Bridge"
15. "By the Way"
16. "Goodbye Angels"
17. "Give It Away"

Watch the Red Hot Chili Peppers Perform "By the Way"

A Complete Guide to Red Hot Chili Peppers Lineup Changes

More From Mix 94.1