A day after announcing the release date for Spirit, Depeche Mode have given us the first single. You can listen to "Where's the Revolution" above.

Its lyrics are a condemnation of a society that they feel has become too complacent. As Dave Gahan sings in the second verse, "You've been pissed on / For too long / Your rights abused / Your views refused / They manipulate and threaten / With terror as a weapon." The other members of the group join in for the chorus, "Where's the revolution / Come on, people / You're letting me down."

Despite the topical nature of "Where's the Revolution," Gahan told Rolling Stone, "I wouldn't call this a political album, because I don't listen to music in a political way. But it's definitely about humanity, and our place in that."

Another of Spirit's tracks, "Cover Me," has somewhat of a David Bowie influence in its lyrics. Gahan knew David Bowie because their daughters attend the same school, and said he felt "a huge gap" when he learned about Bowie's death. "One of the things I was most regrettable about was that I had never really gone up to him at any time I'd seen him in passing and said, 'You know, David, I bump into you every once in a while, but I've never told you how much your music has meant to me and continues to mean to me.'"

Spirit, Depeche Mode's 14th album, is coming out on March 17. It was produced by James Ford, who's worked with Florence + the Machine, Mumford and Sons and Arctic Monkeys, with programming help from Matrixxman. The group is accepting pre-orders, which come with an immediate download of "Where's the Revolution," at Amazon and iTunes, and you can choose which service via this link.

Depeche Mode, who were nominated, but not elected for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame this year, will promote Spirit with a world tour. As of now, they've only announced the European dates, which run from May 5 to July 23. They are expected to reveal the North and South American shows soon.

Depeche Mode, 'Spirit' Track Listing

1. "Going Backwards"
2. "Where's the Revolution"
3. "The Worst Crime"
4. "Scum"
5. "You Move"
6. "Cover Me"
7. "Eternal"
8. "Poison Heart"
9. "So Much Love"
10. "Poorman"
11. "No More (This is the Last Time)"
12. "Fail"
13. "Cover Me (Alt Out)"
14. "Scum (Frenetic Mix)"
15. "Poison Heart (Tripped Mix)"
16. "Fail (Cinematic Cut)"
17. "So Much Love (Machine Mix)"

How 50 of Rock's Biggest Bands Got Their Names

More From Mix 94.1