Yes, It’s Really Illegal To Put This in Your Truck in Texas
It's funny how much things can change over the years. Growing up we never wore seat-belts. Grandma chewed tobacco and Grandpa smoked in the car while you played in the backseat. No one cared about lead paint.
And we all hitched a ride somewhere in the bed of a pickup truck.
What Is Illegal To Put In The Bed Of Your Truck? Your kids.
Personally, my childhood feels attacked. My teen years feel attacked. I grew up in a rural area, and this is just how we all got around. I loved riding in the back of the truck.
My nostalgia for the "good old days" though doesn't change the fact that it's technically illegal in the state of Texas.
It's a misdemeanor offense and the fines can range anywhere from $25 to $200 according to the Texas DPS website.
On their website, it reads:
A person commits an offense if the person operates an open-bed pickup truck or an open flatbed truck or draws an open flatbed trailer when a child younger than 18 years of age is occupying the bed of the truck or trailer.
What If You're On The Beach Or Doing Farm Work? You're Fine.
As is the case with pretty much everything, there are some exceptions to the rule. First of all, the passenger must be at least 18 years of age. So, if you have older kids riding in the bed of the truck...you're fine as long as they can sign up for the draft and vote.
Other exceptions include moving workers from one farm location to the next as long as it isn't within a municipality. So, keep to the back roads. Don't go through downtown.
Parades and hayrides are also okay.
What if it's the only vehicle your family has? That's an allowable defense as well.
Visiting the beach? Riding in the bed on the beach is okay, too.
It's all right here on the DPS website. You'll want to scroll to the bottom.